TikTok is becoming more private by default for younger users, applying a privacy change to both new and existing accounts.
Eric Han, Head of US Safety at TikTok, made the announcement that from today, “we’re changing the default privacy setting for all registered accounts ages 13-15 to private.” By defaulting to a private state, it means only someone who has gained user approval as a follower can view their videos.
The same age group is also gaining more control over their account through new options. It’s now possible to limit who can comment to just “Friends” or “No One.” The “Everyone” option is being removed completely. The Duet and Stitch options, which allow other TikTok video content to be used as clips or integrations, will now be limited to users aged 16 and up. Video downloads will also be removed as an option for anyone under the age of 16, and the “Suggest your account to others” option is turned off by default.
These changes add to measures TikTok has already taken to limit direct messaging and virtual gifts for young teenagers, as well as introducing a Family Pairing feature to allow guardians to help keep young users safe. For users under the age of 13, there’s a limited app experience called TikTok for Younger Users.